ASTE Update

I heard Lee Crockett speak at the General Session this morning. Lee’s presentation challenged prevailing thoughts about our current reality and the rate of change in which are lives function.

A couple of thoughts sparked my interest. I wonder what others think about these:

1. As educators do we function in a system that prepares students for “our past” or for “their future?”

2. New technologies do not necessarily bring on new “habit of mind.”

What do you think?

  1. #1 by Dale on February 26, 2011 - 4:59 pm

    The important thing is that we do out best to prepare them for ‘their future’ as best we can. Technology may not change a ‘habit of mind’ but it will create one where none exists. We should ask ourselves how might technology be used to create beneficial ‘habits of mind’. This is the undiscovered country in which the next generation will live.

    It is imperative that the current generation should explore the possibilities that technology presents or else the next generation will have to unlearn the bad habits that were allowed to develop. If we don’t make a conscious effort to stay ahead of or at least on the curve of technology integration we risk driving the generation right off the road.

  2. #2 by Heidi DuFresne on February 28, 2011 - 5:29 am

    Interesting thoughts! As for the first thought, I have found that I really try (as a parent) to not compare my education to my child’s education or the way that teachers are currently educating. It is a difficult process sometimes, but I can see how we, as a society, do that to students. We tend to get caught up in the more ‘traditional’ ways of grading, learning, teaching, etc., and especially with HTH being a standards based school, the student support team needs to remember that we are educating the future.

  3. #3 by Ayme Johnson on March 1, 2011 - 12:19 am

    I think that all to often we do catch ourselves prepping students for our past because this is what we know. I need to keep this in mind as I plan my units and lessons to ensure I’m helping students drive into the future!
    I am not sure that new technology brings on new “habit of mind” automatically. I’m interested in brain research that shows this. Did your presenter have any conclusive data to share?

  4. #4 by phoenix-forum on March 4, 2011 - 4:51 am

    This presenter did not use any brain research to support his assertions. However, there was a Brain Researcher at the conference who I have heard speak before, Linda Chamberlain. She lives in Homer – would be a good resource for us. http://www.howlinghuskyhomestead.com/

    Habits of Mind…Dale I agree that one of our tasks is to integrate today’s technology with the process of learning to create “habits of mind” for a new reality. Staying ahead of the curve is a daunting task.

  5. #5 by Jak pozbyć się zbędnych kilogramów? on August 16, 2014 - 8:43 pm

    Technology is a beautiful thing when it works together, but
    is a massive headache when it doesn. The Authority – Any one who has legal power
    over you is the Authority. Business loans tend to carry a high rate of interest.

  6. #6 by Dale Rooney on August 17, 2014 - 5:53 am

    I suspect that education systems have always prepared students for the past and not the future. Today, however the difference between one generation’s past and the next generation’s future is greater than ever before. So much greater that paradigms must fall.

  7. #7 by Vanessa on September 4, 2014 - 6:58 pm

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your website? My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my
    useers would certainly benefit from a lot of tthe infrmation you present here.
    Pleas leet me know if this okay with you. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

